Commission Members

  • Maryland Commission on the School-to-Prison Pipeline and Restorative Practices

    Commission Members


    • Barbara Sugarman Grochal
      Director, School Conflict Resolution Education Program
      Center for Dispute Resolution
      University of Maryland Francis King Carey School of Law


    1. Barbara A. Robinson
      Maryland State Senator
    2. Alonzo T. Washington
      Maryland State Delegate
    3. Walter Sallee
      Director of Student Services and Strategic Planning, Maryland State Department of Education (designated by State Superintendent of Schools)
    4. Michael D. Phillips
      Board Member (designated by President of the Maryland State Board of Education)
    5. Sam J. Abed
      Secretary, Maryland Department of Juvenile Services
    6. Michael Bunitsky
      Former Maryland school teacher and adjunct college faculty (designated by President of Maryland Association of Boards of Education)
    7. Robin L. McNair
      Teacher and Restorative Practices trainer (designated by President of Maryland State Education Association)
    8. Colleen Larson
      President, Maryland Association of Student Councils
    9. Jon Carrier
      President, Maryland Association of School Resource Officers
    10. Marla Posey-Moss & Aimee Evans
      Maryland PTA President’s designees
    11. Gail L. Sunderman
      Executive Director, Maryland Equity Project
    12. Shantay M. McKinily
      Director of the Positive Schools Center, University of Maryland School of Social Work
    13. Rhonda Richetta
      Principal, City Springs Elementary School (designated by State Superintendent)
    14. Kimberly Humphrey
      Education/Legislative Advocate (designated by President of American Civil Liberties Union of Maryland)
    15. Melanie Shapiro
      Assistant Public Defender (designated by Maryland Public Defender)
    16. Shamarla R. McCoy
      Education Policy Director, Advocates for Children and Youth
    17. Lorig Charkoudian
      Executive Director, Community Mediation Maryland
    18. Matt Zernhelt
      Executive Director, Community Conferencing Center
    19. Tonia Ferguson
      Director of Public Policy and Special Initiatives (designated by Executive Director of Arc of Maryland)
    20. Philip J. Leaf
      Johns Hopkins University and the Baltimore City Youth Leadership and Advocacy Network
    21. Craig Minor
      Youth Representative, Youth Leadership and Advocacy Network
    22. Tiffany Nace
      Teacher, Snow Hill Middle School (designated by State Superintendent)