The University’s financial aid program is designed to assist students with a combination of financial aid resources, including grant assistance, loans, and/or work-study. Students must submit the Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA) by March 1st in order to receive optimal consideration for all sources of funds, including grants/scholarships and loans.

Loans and University Grants are administered by the University’s Office of Student Financial Assistance & Education,, and information about applying for need-based financial aid is available on that website.

Merit-based scholarships are awarded to incoming students by the Office of Admissions at the Carey School of Law. The Osborne Scholarship and the Samuel and Anne Hopkins Scholarship require separate applications.

The Student Affairs staff at the Carey School of Law includes a Student Financial Planning Coordinator who assists both prospective and current students with the financial aid process.  The Student Financial Planning Coordinator can help students to understand the various options available and can assist students in making their way through what can be a complex and confusing process.  Current and prospective students are encouraged to contact the Student Financial Planning Coordinator at or by telephone at 410.706.5235.

Scholarship Retention

The merit-based scholarships awarded by the Carey School of Law are renewable so long as the recipient remains enrolled in good standing at the Carey School of Law. In other words, we do not offer conditional scholarships.

Need-based grants awarded by the University Office of Student Financial Assistance & Education (SFAE), often described as University Grants, are renewable based on the timely submission of the FAFSA, the determination of financial need by SFAE, and the availability of funds.