Incoming JD & LLM Student Checklist


Congratulations on being admitted to Maryland Carey Law. We are delighted that you will be joining us at the law school and have prepared this checklist to guide you through the tasks you must complete before your arrival. Should you have questions not addressed here or require additional assistance, see the Who to Contact section below for more information on how to reach our staff.

Please note, failure to meet deadlines and other requirements will jeopardize your enrollment.

Important Dates and Deadlines

  • June 22, 2021, 6:00pm ET - JD Zoom Welcome Night
  • July 22, 2021, 6:00pm ET - JD Zoom Welcome Night 
  • August 2, 2021 - Proof of COVID-19 Vaccination due (see below for more information)
  • August 13, 2021, 12:00pm ET - Zoom Pre-Orientation Welcome
  • August 15, 2021 - Proof of other immunizations due (see below for more information)
  • August 16-20, 2021 - Mandatory JD Orientation (NOTE: Transfer and Visiting Students will be notified by email about optional programming to attend during orientation week and any mandatory classes)
  • TBD - Mandatory LLM and Exchange Student Orientation
  • August 27, 2021 - Tuition Payment Deadline
  • September 1, 2021 - Deadline to waive health insurance 
  • October 14, 2021 - Final transcript receipt deadline 

Find a Place to Live

Set up your UMID and Email Account

Accept or Decline Financial Aid

Upload Proof of COVID-19 and Other Vaccinations

Enroll or Waive Health Insurance

Submit your Final Transcripts

Report any Character and Fitness Issues

Get Ready for Class

Prepare for Orientation

Arrange Parking or Transportation

Request Accommodations

Explore Campus Resources

Find a Mentor (Incoming JD 1L Students Only)

Find Your Mailbox

Provide Emergency Contact Information

Learn our Employment Policy and Other Rules

Who to Contact

General advising and academic advising, student organizations and activities, welcome nights, orientation, ADA support, personal struggles, and leaves of absence:
Michele Hayes, Assistant Dean for Student Affairs
hayes@law.umaryland.edu
410.706.5235

General advising and academic advising, student organizations and activities, welcome nights, orientation, ADA support, and wellness:
Ann Kim, Associate Director of Student Services
kim@law.umaryland.edu
410.706.5235

Academic advising, dual degrees, externships, and international programs:
Crystal Edwards, Assistant Dean for Academic Affairs
cedwards@law.umaryland.edu
410.706.2091

Advice and information about financial aid, budgeting, debt management, student payroll and reimbursements, and liaison to the University financial aid office:
Marilyn Jones, Student Financial Planning Manager
mmjones@law.umaryland.edu
667.209.4514

Questions about the registration process:
Steven Boggs, Registrar
sboggs@law.umaryland.edu
410.706.2045

General questions about registration and veterans' benefits:
Stephanie Ortiz, Registration & Enrollment Coordinator 
sortiz@law.umaryland.edu 
410.706.2046

Job search strategies and things you can do now that will help you develop a successful job search:
Dana Morris, Assistant Dean for Career Development 
dmorris@law.umaryland.edu
410.706.2080

Accommodations under the Americans with Disability Act (ADA):
Deborah Levi, Director of Educational Support, University Office of Educational Support and Disability Services
dlevi@umaryland.edu

Residency classification (residency@umaryland.edu, in-state vs. out-of-state), and information about registration “holds”:
University Registrar
registrar@umaryland.edu
410.706.7480