Maryland Carey Law's Best of 2018

January 28, 2019

2018 Best of Header
As we race into 2019, revisit some of the news and events that made Maryland Carey Law a great place to be in 2018.

Faculty Best of

Unanimous SCOTUS Win in Important Capital Case by Maryland Carey Law Prof. Lee Kovarsky

William J. Moon Joins Carey Law Faculty 2/15/2018

Leigh Goodmark Rethinks Approaches to Domestic Violence in New Book

Gray and Goodmark Elected to ALI

Environmental Law Clinic Wins ABA Award                          

Michael Van Alstine Selected As Director of the Business Law Program

Students Best of

Maryland Carey Law Wins 2018 LSAC Diversity Matters Award for Innovation      

Maryland Carey Law's 2018 Hooding Ceremony

Maryland Carey Law Launches Erin Levitas Initiative

Neda Saghafi Named UMB Champion of Excellence

Maryland Carey Law Students Recognized at Graduation Awards Ceremony         

Student Stories: Virginia Giannini

Barry Dalin, 3L, Set to Argue Before 4th Circuit

Maryland Carey Law National Moot Court Team Wins Regional                  

UMB Interdisciplinary Team Triumphs in Public Health Challenge                              

Environmental Law Clinic Scores Victory for Citizens of Prince George's County

Alumni Best of

WLE Holds Panel and Networking Event in DC

Maryland Carey Law Announces 2018 Alumni Honors Award Winners     

Aarti Sidhu '18: OSI Community Fellow Working to Keep Children in School

The Hon. Marcella A. Holland '83 received the Vaino Spencer Leadership Award from the National Association of Women Judges

The Hon. Toni Clarke '86 became the first African American female Chair of the American Bar Association’s Judicial Division

Alicia Wilson '07 selected to national list of influential young executives

Wandaly Fernandez '14 will be awarded with the Rising Star Award by The Hispanic Bar of Washington DC

The Hon. Elizabeth Morris '02 becomes Anne Arundel County's first female African-American Circuit Court judge

Elva Tillman '87 received the Retired Pro Bono Volunteer Award from the Pro Bono Resource Center of Maryland

Esther H. Lim '95 was sworn in as the 47th president of the D.C. Bar on June 12, 2018

Elizabeth S. Baker '73 has been honored with the 2018 Jean Crowe Pro Bono Award by the American Bar Association Section on Family Law

Ford Loker '73 honored by Maryland Defense Counsel with inaugural John H. Mudd Lifetime Achievement Award

Events Best of

Maryland Carey Law Hosts Annual Scholarship Luncheon

Professors Stearns and Henry Host Kavanaugh Discussion

Investiture of Martha Ertman                     

LLSA Symposium and Banquet                   

Trump & the ACA: A Panel Discussion on the Multi-City Litigation                               

Maryland Carey Law Black Alumni 4th Reunion & Symposium                     

Investiture of Michael P. Van Alstine       

APALSA 9th Annual Spring Reception: Our Journey: Incorporating Our Culture and Values to Our Legal Careers"                  

43rd Black Law Students Association Scholarship and Awards Banquet    

Maryland Carey Law and Five Law Firms Announce New IPEC Partnership