Maryland Carey Law Announces 2019 Alumni Honors Award Winners

March 19, 2019

The University of Maryland Francis King Carey School of Law is proud to announce the winners of this year’s Alumni Honors as part of Maryland Carey Law’s 2019 Alumni Weekend beginning on Thursday, April 11.

Arnold Weiner HeadshotThe Distinguished Graduate Award is presented to a Maryland Carey Law alumnus who has achieved prominence through professional excellence and service to the community. This year’s winner is Arnold M. Weiner ’57.

Weiner, currently a partner at Rifkin Weiner Livingston, LLC, has had a remarkable legal career. Past clients have included Mayor Sheila Dixon; Governor Marvin Mandel; Congressman Edward Garmatz; and Jerome Wolff, Chairman of the State Roads Commission, who testified against then Vice-President Spiro T. Agnew. Weiner’s notable cases include representation of the Baltimore Orioles in Comcast Sportsnet Mid-Atlantic v. Baltimore Orioles, et al, resulting in the creation of the Mid-Atlantic Sports Network and Devan v. Ernst & Young, which resulted in a record-setting settlement for an action against a major accounting firm.

Weiner’s public service is just as impressive. After graduating law school, Weiner clerked for the Honorable Simon E. Sobeloff, Chief Judge of the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Fourth Circuit, before joining the US Attorney’s office. While maintaining a private practice, Weiner also served as Special Assistant Attorney General; Chairman of the Advisory Board for the State of Maryland’s Department of Correction, Parole and, Probation; and a member of the Standing Committee on Rules of Practice and Procedure for the Court of Appeals of Maryland.

Judge Eyler HeadshotThe Mary Ellen Barbera '84 Judicial Excellence Award is presented to an alumnus who exemplifies the highest standards of judicial excellence, displays extraordinary courage, energy, and tenacity in the handling of controversial and difficult cases as well as embodies strength of character, service, and competence as a jurist, lawyer, and public servant. This year’s winner is the Honorable Deborah Sweet Eyler ’81.

After graduating law school, Judge Eyler began her legal career at Whiteford, Taylor & Preston, becoming a partner in 1990. She began her career on the bench in June 1997 when Governor Parris Glendening appointed her to an At-Large seat on the Maryland Court of Special Appeals where she retired in 2018 but continues to serve as a specially assigned senior judge. Over an extensive career, Judge Eyler has authored 286 reported opinions and over 1,400 unreported opinions.

During her time on the bench, Judge Eyler has received the Maryland Bar Foundation Award for Professional Legal Excellence/Advancement of the Rights of the Disadvantaged; the Maryland Pro Bono Resource Center Pro Bono Service Award; the Maryland Legal Aid Bureau/Equal Justice Council Award for Outstanding Dedication and Service; and the Maryland Legal Services Corporation Special Recognition Award.

Schindler HeadshotThe Benjamin L. Cardin Public Service Award is presented to an alumnus who has demonstrated significant and substantial contributions to furthering ideals of public service in the law. This year’s winner is Marc A. Schindler ’93.

Schindler’s career has been focused, above all else, on protecting children and working to reform the justice system. He began his crusade representing children in Baltimore’s juvenile courts as a public defender. While there, Schindler was awarded the Cahill Award for outstanding commitment to service and chaired the Juvenile Law Committee of the Baltimore City Bar Association. Schindler next worked as a Staff Attorney with the Youth Law Center before moving to the DC Department of Youth Rehabilitation Services (DYRS). Through numerous positions, including serving as General Counsel and Interim Director of DYRS, he advocated for reform focusing on the principles of Positive Youth Development. While he was there, the Department was recognized by Harvard’s Kennedy School, which named DYRS one of the “Top 50” government programs in 2008 in its prestigious Innovations in American Government Awards competition. In 2010 Schindler joined Venture Philanthropy Partners where he led their Social Innovation Fund youthCONNECT initiative.  He has served as Executive Director of the Justice Policy Institute since 2013, where he leads the organization’s efforts to reduce the use of incarceration in juvenile and adult criminal justice systems across the country.

DeGraffenreidt HeadshotThe Rising Star Award recognizes a recent graduate whose exemplary contributions of service and leadership, either professionally or at Maryland Carey Law, have brought credit to the graduate and this institution. This year’s winner is Aaron B. DeGraffenreidt ’12.

Upon graduating Maryland Carey Law DeGraffenreidt clerked for the Honorable Althea M. Handy at the Circuit Court for Baltimore City. After the clerkship, he joined Maryland Legal Aid as a Staff Attorney before joining the Baltimore City Department of Law where he is currently an Assistant Solicitor, representing Baltimore City agencies including the Department of Housing, Community Development, the Board of Municipal and Zoning Appeals, and the Department of Planning.

DeGraffenreidt is active in many organizations and has been awarded several honors with the Monumental City Bar Association, the Bar Association of Baltimore, the Maryland State Bar Association, and also remains a judge to the Maryland Carey Law chapter of the Black Law Student’s Association trial team.

Wang HeadshotThe Star Award recognizes the unsung heroes among the alumni population. Those alumni who volunteer for Maryland Carey Law behind the scenes with little fanfare, and who are steadfast in their support, loyal in their hearts, and deserving of special recognition. This year’s winner is Marcus L. Wang ’08.

Wang is the Co-Founder, President, and General Manager of ZytoGen Global Genetics Institute, which utilizes state of the art genetic sequencing to drive successful pregnancy outcomes for patients worldwide through its proprietary Preimplantation Genetic Screening platform.

Prior to ZytoGen, Wang was the China Lead for Under Armour, where he led their expansion into the China market. Wang also practiced law as an attorney at the New York office of DLA Piper.

Wang has served in many leadership positions in his career including: Commissioner of the Maryland Health Care Commission; an Inspector at the College of American Pathologists; on the Board of Directors of the Baltimore County Revenue Authority; and on the Board of Trustees for the Gilman School in Baltimore. At the University of Maryland, Baltimore, Wang serves on the President’s Roundtable in addition to serving on Maryland Carey Law’s Board of Visitors and as Co-Chair of the Development Committee. 

Upon graduation, Wang, a Samuel and Anne Hopkins Leadership Scholar, established the Leadership Scholars Legacy Endowment to provide scholarships for future Maryland Carey Law students.

Alumni Award Honorees are selected each year by members of the Alumni Board Awards Committee and confirmed by the Alumni Board. Award winners will be honored at the Alumni Honors Banquet on Thursday, April 11 in Westminster Hall. For more information, please go to

Share this article