Maryland Carey Law celebrates 2020 Alumni Awards with special tribute to the Hon. Elijah E. Cummings  

On the evening of Dec. 17, the Maryland Carey Law community logged on to a special Zoom event to celebrate the 2020 Alumni Awards, honoring the Hon. Elijah E. Cummings ’76 (posthumously)M. Natalie McSherry ’74the Hon. Clayton Greene, Jr. ’76, Meghan Marsh ’96, and Michelle McLeod ’10. 

Dean Donald Tobin kicked off the night, introducing U.S. Sen. Ben Cardin '67, who dropped in during a short break from working on the COVID relief package in Congress. Cardin congratulated the honorees with a special word to Meghan Marsh ’96, this year’s recipient of the Benjamin L. Cardin Public Service Award. 

Following were video presentations for each award recipient telling the stories of their illustrious careers, and remarks from each recipient.  

To view the presentation, click here.  

The video for Cummings is a heartfelt tribute to the congressman’s extraordinary life and contributions to his alma mater, the city, state, and nation. It features interviews with close friends including U.S. Rep. John Sarbanes and Prof. Larry Gibson. Maya Rockeymoore Cummings accepted the Lifetime Achievement Award on behalf of her late husband.  

The event was dedicated in loving memory of the Hon. Elijah E. Cummings. 

2020 Alumni Awards 

  • The Lifetime Achievement Award was awarded posthumously to the Hon. Elijah E. Cummings ’76. This award is given by the Alumni Board at the discretion of the dean. Cummings is only the second recipient since the award’s establishment in 2016. Cummings was in his 13th term representing Maryland’s 7th District in the U.S. House of Representatives when he passed away in October 2019. 
  • The Distinguished Graduate Award is presented to a Maryland Carey Law alum who has achieved prominence through professional excellence and service to the community. This year’s winner is M. Natalie McSherry ’74, principal at Kramon & Graham. 
  • The Mary Ellen Barbera ’84 Judicial Excellence Award is presented to an alum who exemplifies the highest standards of judicial excellence, displays extraordinary courage, energy, and tenacity in the handling of controversial and difficult cases as well as embodies strength of character, service, and competence as a jurist, lawyer, and public servant. This year’s winner is the Hon. Clayton Greene, Jr. ’76, whoretired in 2019 from his post as senior judge on the Maryland Court of Appeals.  
  • The Benjamin L. Cardin Public Service Award is presented to an alum who has demonstrated significant and substantial contributions to furthering ideals of public service in the law. This year’s winner is Meghan Marsh ’96director of operations at Disability Rights Maryland. 
  • The Rising Star Award recognizes a recent graduate whose exemplary contributions of service and leadership, either professionally or at Maryland Carey Law, have brought credit to the graduate and this institution. This year’s winner is Michelle McLeod ’10, an attorney in the U.S. Department of Justice’s Civil Rights Division. 

Share this article