Maryland Carey Law scholars start off 2020 at AALS annual meeting in D.C.

The Association of American Law Schools (AALS) drew nearly 3,000 professors, deans, and administrators for its annual meeting January 2-5 in Washington, D.C.—a convenient location for the 10 presenters from Maryland Carey Law.

“It was a privilege to be so well represented at the 2020 AALS annual meeting,” said Maryland Carey Law Dean Donald B. Tobin. “I am gratified that several of our distinguished faculty and staff shared their expertise with colleagues from across the country.”

The Association of American Law Schools was founded in 1900 to advance excellence in legal education and comprises 179 law schools. Charter members include Yale, Columbia, Cornell, Harvard, NYU, Penn, and Stanford law schools. The University of Maryland Francis King Carey School of Law was elected into membership of AALS 90 years ago. The association hosts its annual meeting during the first week of January in various major cities. It is the largest gathering of law professors in the world.

Maryland Carey Law faculty and staff presented at the 2020 meeting on matters both legal and administrative, in sessions throughout the four-day conference:

Heather Foss, Assistant Dean for Development and Alumni Relations, Institutional Advancement Concurrent Session: Dollars are Up, Donors are Down, What are We Going to Do About It?

Mark A. Graber, Professor, Section on Jurisprudence: New Jurisprudence Scholars Panel

Seema Kakade, Assistant Professor, Sections on Administrative Law, Environmental Law, and Natural Resources & Energy Law Joint Program: Agency Action on Environmental and Natural Resources Law in the Trump Era

Sherri Lee Keene, Professor, AALS Discussion Group: Time-Turning, Invisibility, and Other Magic Mentoring Tricks

Lee Kovarsky, Professor, Section on Criminal Justice: New Frontiers in State Post-Conviction Litigation

Russell A. McClain, Professor, Section on Criminal Justice: Teaching Criminal Law and Criminalization: Race, Class, Gender, and Beyond

Paula A. Monopoli, Professor, Sections on Constitutional Law and Election Law Joint Program: The Nineteenth Amendment at 100: Its Contribution and Legacy

William J. Moon, Assistant Professor, Section on Business Associations: New Voices in Business Law

Michael Pappas, Associate Dean for Research and Faculty Development and Professor, Sections on Agriculture and Food Law, Environmental Law, and Natural Resources & Energy Law: Works in Progress

Donald B. Tobin, Dean and Professor, Engaging Advisory Boards

Additionally, Maryland Carey Law was happy to join with other Big 10 schools to host a reception at the Wardman Park Hotel. Around 300 alumni, faculty, and staff from Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Maryland, Michigan State, Minnesota, Nebraska, Ohio State, Penn State, Rutgers, and Wisconsin law schools attended.

Share this article