Maryland Carey Law elects new Board of Visitors members

The University of Maryland Francis King Carey School of Law has elected five new members to its Board of Visitors (BOV). The board is a collaborative forum and professional resource providing insight and support to the dean on a range of issues critical to the continued growth and success of the law school. The board functions as an advisory body with a strong professional and philanthropic commitment to the law school and as an important liaison to the legal and business communities. 

The new members (appearing from left to right above) are: 

  • Jamar Brown ’11, Partner, Rosenberg Martin Greenberg LLP, Baltimore, MD 
  • Caroline Harris ’79, Managing Partner, GoldmanHarris LLC and GoldmanHarris II LLC (WBE), New York, NY  
  • Henry Talavera ’89, Shareholder, Polsinelli PC, Dallas, TX  
  • Karen Gally ’96, VP and General Counsel, Otsuka America Pharmaceutical, Rockville, MD 
  • Kerry Staton ’80, Founding and Managing Partner, Schochor and Staton, Baltimore, MD 

“We are thrilled to welcome our new members to the Maryland Carey Law Board of Visitors,” said Dean Donald Tobin. “I know these leaders, with their diverse talents and perspectives, will be great contributors on the board.”   

Additionally, in its spring meeting, the Board of Visitors elected Sharon Krevor-Weisbaum ’87 to the Executive Committee as secretary beginning this summer. Krevor-Weisbaum joins Howard K. Kurman ’75, who will serve one more year as chair, and Tamika Tremaglio ’95, who will serve one more year as vice chair before beginning a three-year term as chair. The board also recognized outgoing members Dean Pappas ’83 and Glenn Cooper ’73 for their many years of dedicated service. 

 I am grateful for the committed leaders who helped me navigate challenges and move this institution forward during my tenure as dean,” said Dean Donald B. Tobin, who will step down this summer, “and I am confident that this board will continue to provide vital guidance and support as Renée McDonald Hutchins steps into her new role as dean August 1.” 


Share this article