Alumnus takes top spot in 2021 Maryland Super Lawyers list

Glenn Cooper ’73 is the 2021 #1 Maryland Super Lawyer 

Alumni from the University of Maryland Francis King Carey School of Law are well represented in the 202Maryland Super Lawyers publication, with 49 populating the Top ListsTop 10: 2021 Maryland Super LawyersTop 50: 2021 Women Maryland Super Lawyers, and Top 100: 2021 Maryland Super Lawyers. 

Each year, Super Lawyers recognizes the top lawyers in Maryland through a patented selection process involving peer nomination, independent research, and peer evaluation. The attorneys who receive the highest point totals are further recognized in Maryland Super Lawyers Top Lists. 

Glenn Cooper ’73 and Deborah Potter ’90 appear on the exclusive Top 10: 2021 Maryland Super Lawyers grouping, with Cooper in the #1 spot. “It is truly an honor and perhaps reflects a significant work ethic and ability to get along with people,” said Cooper. Perhaps a little extra fortune smiled on me. It does have special value to be able to share with family and close friends, who might just buy it hook, line and sinker.” Cooper is a principal at Paley Rothman and current member of Maryland Carey Law’s Board of Visitors. Potter is a partner at Potter Burnett.  

Potter also joins Ava Lias-Booker ’86 (below) and 14 other alumnae on the Top 50: 2021 Women Maryland Super Lawyers list. Lias-Booker is a partner at McGuireWoods LLP and an emeritus member of the Maryland Carey Law Board of Visitors.  

Out of the 100 Maryland attorneys on the Top 100: 2021 Maryland Super Lawyers list, 31 are Maryland Carey Law grads. 

Maryland Carey Law takes great pride in the accomplishments of our many alumni honored this year, says Executive Director of Alumni Engagement Andrew Altshuler. “Congratulations to all the attorneys appearing on these prominent lists.” 

Below are members of the Maryland Carey Law alumni community on the 2021 Super Lawyer Top Lists: 

Top 10 Super Lawyers 

Glenn Cooper ’73 

Deborah Potter ’90 

Top 50 Women Super Lawyers 

Zoa Barnes ’95 

Julie Christopher ’01 

Harriet Cooperman ’78 

Mary Alane Downs ’82 

Rebecca Fleming ’00 

Kristine Howanski ’83 

Kelly Hughes Iverson ’92 

Julie Landau ’80 

Anne Kelly Laynor ’87 

Ava Lias-Booker ’86 

Kathleen M. McDonald ’80 

Natalie McSherry’74

Deborah Lynne Potter ’90 

Mary E. Roby-Sanders ’90 

Tracy L. Steedman ’03 

Patricia M. Weaver ’91 

Top 100 Super Lawyers 

Zoa Barnes ’95 

Paul D. Bekman ’71 

Stephan Y. Brennan ’92 

William E. Carlson ’83 

Julie A. Barnett Christopher ’01 

Glenn Cooper ’73 

Rebecca Fleming ’00 

Alvin I. Frederick ’76 

David D. Gilliss ’85 

Howard G. Goldberg ’71 

Matthew G. Hjortsberg ’96 

Kristine Howanski ’83 

David B. Irwin ’73 

Kelly Hughes Iverson ’92 

Andrew V. Jezic ’94 

Jonathan P. Kagan ’93 

Julie Landau ’80 

Anne Kelly Laynor ’87 

Natalie McSherry ’74

Thomas E. Mulinazzi ’03 

Jeffrey E. Nusinov ’00 

Deborah Lynne Potter ’90 

Tom C. Ries ’79 

Benjamin Rosenberg ’68 

Mary E. Roby-Sanders ’90 

Kerry D. Staton ’80 

Tracy L. Steedman ’03 

Howard S. Stevens ’98 

Craig A. Thompson ’95 

Arnold M. Weiner ’57 

Steven F. Wrobel ’90 

Share this article