Maryland Carey Law

The Bulletin

News From Maryland Carey Law

UMB Awards
Two members of the Maryland Carey Law community were selected for UMB Core Values Awards last spring. Prof. Kathleen Hoke won the award for excellence, and student Kaitlyn Holzer ’20 was honored for leadership. Earlier in the year, Bill Joyner ’20 was honored with the UMB Diversity Recognition Award.

Over the summer UMB announced its four 2020 Founders Week award winners with two going to Maryland Carey Law faculty members. Prof. Russell McClain, associate dean for diversity and inclusion, was selected as Educator of the Year. Prof. Maureen Sweeney, director, Immigration Clinic, is the Public Servant of the Year.

Maryland Carey Law celebrated the investiture of Larry Gibson as the Morton & Sophia Macht Professor of Law at a ceremony in Westminster Hall on Nov. 14, 2019. Attendees packed the historic hall to honor the legendary professor, lawyer, scholar, historian, and political strategist who has taught at the law school since 1974. 

NIH Grant
Prof. Diane Hoffmann and colleagues from the UMB campus have been awarded a $1.1 million grant from the National Institutes of Health’s National Human Genome Research Institute. The grant funds Hoffmann’s initiative to develop policy recommendations on the regulation of microbiome-based diagnostic tests, which are now available over-the-counter and through commercial and “citizen science” projects.

Skadden Fellowship
Recent Maryland Carey Law graduate Sam Williamson ’18 was awarded a highly competitive Skadden Fellowship to pursue public interest law. The two-year fellowship is among the most prestigious awards for public interest law students and earlycareer lawyers. Williamson is launching the first civil legal aid program in Baltimore City and Baltimore County specifically designed to eliminate barriers in housing, employment, safety, and stability for LGBTQ youth experiencing homelessness.

Leadership in Law
Prof. Michael Greenberger, founding director of the Center for Health and Homeland Security, was awarded 2020 Leadership in Law honors by The Daily Record.

Assoc. Prof. Seema Kakade was elected an American College of Environmental Lawyers fellow and won the Environmental Futures Award from the Environmental Law Institute. Kakade is director of Maryland Carey Law’s Environmental Law Clinic.

Prof. Natalie Ram was appointed to the National Academies’ Committee on Science, Technology, and Law. Ram is a top scholar on the intersection of genetic privacy and the law. She teaches in Maryland Carey Law’s top-ranked Law and Health Care Program.

Bloomberg Fellow
Lydia Watts has been named a 2020 Bloomberg Fellow at the Bloomberg American Health Initiative, Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health. Watts is  executive director of the ROAR Center. Administered by Maryland Carey Law, ROAR draws on expertise from across UMB to provide interdisciplinary services for crime victims.

Alternative Dispute Resolution Awards
The Mediation Clinic is the 2020 recipient of the District Court of Maryland Offi ce of Alternative Dispute Resolution’s ADR Program Achievement Award. The clinic’s  referrals come through longstanding collaborations with the District Court ADR Program and District Court judges. The clinic also serves as the mediation program for the Baltimore City Community Relations Office of Civil Rights. Toby Treem Guerin ’02 received the Robert M. Bell Award for Outstanding Contribution to Alternative Dispute Resolution in Maryland. Guerin is managing director of the Center for Dispute Resolution (C-DRUM) and instructor for the Mediation Clinic.

NAWL Recognition
Danielle Schweizer ’20 (center), was recognized by the National Association of Women Lawyers (NAWL) with the Outstanding Law Student Award. Winners are selected for contributing to the advancement of women, promoting women’s issues in the legal profession, demonstrating tenacity and high academic achievement, and earning the respect of colleagues.