Student Health Law Organization

The Student Health Law Organization (SHLO) serves as the link between students and the Law and Health Care Program (L&HCP) at the University of Maryland Francis King Carey School of Law. SHLO plays a vital role in engaging students in the L&HCP and connecting them with health law opportunities. The L&HCP is a pioneer in health care law and SHLO is an integral part of that status.

SHLO hosts events that enhance student access to health law career opportunities and resources. The organization’s events also promote awareness of and provide current information on health-related legal issues as well as opportunities for community engagement. Annual events include sessions on health law careers, practitioners’ panels, and the Health Law Regulatory and Compliance Competition. SHLO also facilitates a peer-to-peer mentoring program, which provides students with guidance on networking and professional opportunities in the field. Please feel free to contact SHLO officers with any questions regarding the organization.

SHLO 2018-2019 Officers-Elect

Co-President: Kathleen Swanson –kswanson@umaryland.edu
Co-President: Lauren Petrin – lmpetrin@umaryland.edu
Vice President: Whitney Chukwurah – wchukwurah@umaryland.edu
Treasurer: Jacob Dorfman – jacob.dorfman@umaryland.edu
Secretary: Vanessa Agbar – vagbar@umaryland.edu
1L Representative: TBA

SHLO Chairs:

Health Law Competition Chair: Kailey Silverstein – kailey.silverstein@umaryland.edu
Assistant Health Law Competition Chair: TBA
Community Service Chair: Megan Hill – meganhill@umaryland.edu

Email Listserv: To sign up for the SHLO email listserv, please send an email with the subject "Add to SHLO listserv" to Secretary Lauren Petrin at lmpetrin@umaryland.edu. 

Blackboard: To join the SHLO Blackboard group -

1.    Log into Blackboard.

2.    Click on the "Courses" tab.

3.    Search “Student Health Law Organization.”

4.    Click on the downward arrows to the left of the organization name and drop down menu will appear.

5.    Select "Enroll." This will take you to a "Self Enrollment" page.

6.    Click “Submit.”

If you need further assistance joining the SHLO Blackboard group, please email Secretary Lauren Petrin at lmpetrin@umaryland.edu

Health Law Competitions

SHLO and the Law and Health Care Program annually host the Health Law Regulatory and Compliance Competition. At the competition, teams of law students from all over the country are given a hypothetical fact pattern, which they must analyze for potential health-law issues, including compliance with federal health regulations. Every year SHLO also supports the University of Maryland, Baltimore, Interprofessional Patient Management Competition, or IPMC, where teams of students from the schools of law, medicine, nursing, pharmacy, and physical therapy work collaboratively to evaluate an assimilated case scenario presenting complex diagnostic, therapeutic, and legal problems. If you are interested in participating in either of these health law-related competitions, or have any questions about these competitions, please email Health Law Competition Chair Kailey Silverstein at kailey.silverstein@umaryland.edu.

Learn more about SHLO on the Student Health Law Organization (SHLO) Facebook Page »