Tuition rates and expenses for the School of Law are established by the University of Maryland (UM). The tuition for the LLM Program is equal to the tuition for the full-time day JD Program. The tuition & fee schedule is available on SURFS under Student Accounting.
Tuition and fees are payable on a semester basis and must be paid no later than the scheduled due date. If the tuition and fees bill is not paid by the due date, a late payment fee of $100.00 or 5 percent of the balance, whichever is less, will automatically be applied to the bill. An installment plan is available to students with a balance over $500.00. One-third of the bill is payable by the due date and the remaining two-thirds are payable in 30 and 60 days. A nominal fee is added to the last payment. The installment plan must be done in person at Student Accounts, HS/HSL, 601 W. Lombard Street, Suite 206 no later than the due date. Health insurance for six months in advance is paid at the beginning of the fall and spring terms. Senior year students shall pay a diploma fee at the beginning of the semester in which they plan to graduate.
Students carrying fewer than nine credit hours in the full-time day division or fewer than seven credit hours in the evening or part-time day divisions will be charged tuition on a per credit hour basis, with differential charges for in-state and out-of-state students. This rate also applies to students enrolled in a dual degree program with a graduate department situated on another campus of the University System of Maryland, if the students are taking courses on both campuses in the same semester.
All checks and money orders should be made payable to the University of Maryland for the exact amount of the actual bill. Although, the university regularly mails bills to advance-registered students, it cannot assume responsibility for their receipt. Students who do not receive a bill prior to the beginning of a semester in which they have advance-registered are responsible for contacting the registrarís office or office of the cashier during normal business hours. A service charge is assessed for each check returned unpaid by the drawee bank on initial presentation because of insufficient funds, stopped payment, postdating, draw against uncollected items, etc.
An initial determination of in-state status for admission, tuition and charge-differential purposes will be made by the university at the time a studentís application for admission is under consideration. The determination made at that time, and any determination thereafter, shall prevail in each semester until the determination is successfully challenged prior to the last day available for registration for the forthcoming semester. A determination regarding in-state status may be changed for any subsequent semester if circumstances warrant re-determination.
Applicants for review of eligibility and questions concerning the university policy should be directed to the campus Office of the Registrar. Students classified as in-state for admission, tuition and charge-differential purposes are responsible for notifying the Office of Records and Registration in writing within 15 days of any change of circumstances that might affect their classification at the University of Maryland. A complete policy statement may be obtained on the Campus website.
Students who received educational loans while in law school must participate in entrance and exit interviews conducted by the Campus Financial Aid Office. Students with general financial aid questions can also visit the Student Financial Planning Coordinator in Suite 280.
The law school has two “flat fee” rates—one for students enrolled in 9 to 11 credits, and one for students enrolled in 12 to 17 credits. Students enrolled in fewer than 9 credits are charged tuition on a per credit hour basis. These rates also apply to students enrolled in a dual degree program with a graduate department situated on another campus of the University System of Maryland or at a different university (e.g., Johns Hopkins University), if the students are taking courses on both campuses in the same semester. Students enrolled in a dual degree program with another UMB school will be charged semester’s tuition at the school at which they are taking the majority of their credits and will be charged for the total number of credits in which they are enrolled at UMB.
For most students, and in most circumstances, online add/drop will continue through the first two weeks of the semester. Paper add/drop is a requirement for students who drop classes after the tuition billing date (the day prior to the first day of the semester) when those drops will reduce their credit hours from flat fee to per credit hour or for students who are already being billed by the credit hour and who drop credits. Students who add credits will be picked up by the on-line system and billed at the appropriate higher rate.
The UMB Student Accounts Office sends its billings to your local mailing address as recorded in the SURFS system or to your permanent home address if no local mailing address is recorded. Log on to SURFS to check your address.
Students who do not pay their bill by the appropriate due date will be subject to the faculty approved policy on Financial Responsibility.
If you do not receive a bill prior to the start of classes, you should check your bill on-line on SURFS or personally contact the Student Accounts Office, HS/HSL, 601 W. Lombard Street, Suite 206 (410-706-2930).
Normal hours are 8:30 a.m. until 4:30 p.m. and 8:00 a.m. until 5:00 p.m. for phone inquiries.
Evening students who need to conduct in-person business with the UMB Office of Student Accounts (where you pay your bill, receive loan or tuition-refund checks) may make special arrangements to do this after normal hours. Please contact the Student Accounts Office, 410 706- 8357, to make arrangements.
A student who does not pay, or make and follow the conditions of a satisfactory arrangement to pay, a bill for tuition and fees shall not be entitled to attend classes, take examinations or do other work for credit, and no grade or credit will be given for any work done during the semester to which there is default. Any registration or advance registration for a subsequent semester will be canceled. The student will not be permitted to return to the school until the student (1) pays, or makes and follows the conditions of a satisfactory arrangement to pay, the studentís unpaid tuition and fees; and (2) thereafter is readmitted to the school by the dean. However, if the student then is subject to exclusion from the school for any reason other than unpaid tuition or fees, the student may be readmitted only by the Administrative Committee. The studentís required administrative withdrawal does not obviate the studentís financial obligation to the university. For purposes of the rules on academic exclusion, the student shall be treated as having withdrawn from the school without the right to return.
A student who does not pay, or make and follow the conditions of a satisfactory arrangement to pay, any financial obligations to the University of Maryland other than for tuition and fees that in aggregate exceed $25.00 shall not be entitled to advance register, arena register or graduate from the school until the student pays, or makes and follows the conditions of a satisfactory arrangement to pay, the aggregate amount owed. The term ďfinancial obligations to the University of Maryland other than for tuition and feesĒ includes bills for library fines, photocopying fees, bills for university housing and student health services, amounts owned by reason of emergency loans made by the University, bills owed to departments of the university other than the School of Law, and any similar financial obligations to the university.
Postponement of payment will be permitted only in the following circumstances:
The late fee is $100 or 5% of the balance due (whichever is less) for any amount due and payable by the student not included in the above exceptions.
If you elect the installment payment plan and payment is received in the Student Accounts Office within a ten day period after the due date you will be charged a late fee of $25. However, if the installment payment is not received within ten days after its due date, the total remaining balance will become due. In addition to the total amount due and the $25 late fee, there will be an additional charge of $100 or 5% of the balance due, whichever is less, added to your account.
As with any amount owed to the State of Maryland, seriously past due accounts will be referred to the State Central Collections Unit. Once an account has been referred to SCCU an additional 17% collection fee is assessed and the delinquency is reported to the credit bureaus.
Any questions or more detailed information may be obtained from Student Accounts, HS/HSL, 601 W. Lombard Street, Suite 206 (410) 706-2930.
Students who advance register or register in person and subsequently decide not to attend the School of Law must notify the Director of Registration & Enrollment in writing on or before the first day of classes. If this office has not received a request for cancellation by 5:00 p.m. on or before the first day of classes, the University will assume the student plans to attend and accepts his or her financial obligation. A student desiring to withdraw from the school at any time during the academic year after classes begin must so inform the Director of Registration & Enrollment by letter/email or by completing an Application for Withdrawal. Students canceling their registration and those withdrawing from the school must satisfy all outstanding financial obligations to the school and return his or her student identification card. If the above procedures are not completed, the student forfeits the right to any refunds. For students withdrawing, the date used in computing refunds is the date the Application for Withdrawal is signed by the Director of Registration & Enrollment or the date of receipt of the letter/email stating the decision to withdraw.
Most students pay flat rate tuition. However, full time day students pay per credit hour if they receive permission to register for fewer than 9 credits; part time day and evening students pay per credit hour if they receive permission to register for fewer than 7 credits. Subsequent to the first day of classes there is no tuition refund for students who drop courses which would otherwise warrant changing their status from full-time to part-time, or from flat fee to per credit hour tuition rates.
Students officially withdrawing from the school are credited for all academic fees charged to them less the matriculation fee, in accordance with the following schedule:
|Period from Date Instruction Begins||Percentage Refundable|
|On or before the first day of semester||100%|
|First 10% of semester||90%|
|11% to 25% of semester||50%|
|26% to 50% of semester||25%|
|After 50% of semester||0%|
Full-time enrollment is based on 12 semester hours per semester or equivalent.
500 W. Baltimore Street, Baltimore, MD 21201-1786 PHONE: (410) 706-7214 FAX: (410) 706-4045 / TDD: (410) 706-7714
Copyright © 2015, University of Maryland Francis King Carey School of Law. All Rights Reserved.