Academic Calendar

Fall 2016 | Spring 2017

FALL SEMESTER 2016
May 4 - September 3 Online Add/Drop for Fall Semester (except Clinic)
Friday, July 8 Clinic/LTP online Add/Drop deadline for Fall Semester
Monday, August 1 Start of Office of Career Development Recruitment Program
Thursday, August 11 Orientation for LLM Students Begins
Mon., Aug. 15 and Tues., Aug. 16 Orientation for First Year, Transfer and Visiting Students
Wednesday, August 17 First Year Day and Evening Classes Begin (special schedule)
Thu., Aug. 18 and Fri., Aug. 19 Orientation for Clinic and LTP Courses- Mandatory
Saturday, August 20 MSL Orientation
Monday, August 22 All JD and LLM Classes Begin Regular Schedule
Tuesday, August 23 MSL Classes Begin
Saturday, August 27 Deadline for 90% Refund (if withdrawing from all classes)
Saturday, September 3 Add/Drop Deadline for Fall Semester (excluding Clinic and LTP courses)
Monday, September 5 Labor Day Holiday (no classes) Classes will be made up on Mon., Nov. 21
Sunday, September 11 Application for Diploma Deadline for December 2016 Graduates
Thursday, September 15 Deadline for 50% Refund (if withdrawing from all classes)
Monday, October 17 Deadline for 25% Refund (if withdrawing from all classes)
Friday, November 11 Application Deadline for Spring 2017 Externships
Thursday, November 17 MSL program - last regularly scheduled class day
Saturday, November 19 MSL program - available for make-up classes
Monday, November 21 Last Day of Classes
Tuesday, November 22 MSL program - Legal Methods make-up class
Monday, November 21 Deadline to Elect Credit/No Credit Option
Tues., Nov. 22 – Wed., Nov. 23 Exam Study/Course Review/Make-Up Classes due to weather-related or other cancellations
Thu., Nov. 24 – Fri., Nov. 25 Thanksgiving Recess
Mon., Nov. 28 - Tue., Nov. 29 Exam Study/Course Review/Make-Up Classes due to weather-related or other cancellations
Wednesday, November 30 JD and LLM Examinations Begin
Thursday, December 1 MSL program - Examinations Begin
Thursday, December 8 Examinations End - all students
Friday, December 23, 2016 Fall 2016 Diploma Date
SPRING SEMESTER 2017
Thur., Dec. 1 – Sat., Jan. 21 Online Add/Drop for Spring Semester (except Clinic)
Friday, December 9 Clinic/LTP Online Add/Drop deadline for Spring Semester
Thu., Jan. 5 and Fri., Jan. 6 Orientation for Clinic and LTP Courses- Mandatory
Monday, January 9 JD and LLM Classes Begin
Tuesday, January 10 MSL Classes Begin
Monday, January 16 Martin Luther King, Jr. Holiday
Saturday, January 21 Add/Drop Deadline for Spring Semester (excluding Clinics and LTP courses)
Sunday, January 29 Deadline for 90% Refund (if withdrawing from all classes)
Sunday, February 5 Application for Diploma Deadline for May 2017 Graduates
Wednesday, February 15 Deadline for 50% Refund (if withdrawing from all classes)
Thursday, March 16 Deadline for 25% Refund (if withdrawing from all classes)
Saturday, March 18 Spring Recess Begins After Last Class
Monday, March 27 Instruction Resumes
Tuesday, March 28 MSL program - instruction resumes
Thursday, April 13 MSL program - last regularly scheduled class day
Sat., Apr. 15 to Thu., Apr. 20 MSL program - available for make-up classes
Monday, April 17 Last Day of Classes
Monday, April 17 Deadline to Elect Credit/No Credit Option
Tue., Apr. 18 to Fri., Apr. 21 Exam Study/Course Review/Make-Up Classes due to weather-related or other cancellations
Monday, April 24 JD and LLM Examinations Begin
Tuesday, April 25 MSL program - Examinations Begin
Tuesday, May 2 MSL- program - Examinations End
Wednesday, May 3 JD and LLM Examinations End
Friday, May 19, 2017 Law School Hooding Ceremony
Friday, May 19, 2017 University Commencement
Friday, May 19, 2017 Spring 2017 Diploma Date


University of Maryland/Baltimore Refund Policies »
University of Maryland/Baltimore Refund Schedule »


Back To Top

500 W. Baltimore Street, Baltimore, MD 21201-1786 PHONE: (410) 706-7214 FAX: (410) 706-4045 / TDD: (410) 706-7714
Admissions: PHONE: (410) 706-3492 FAX: (410) 706-1793
Copyright © 2016, University of Maryland Francis King Carey School of Law. All Rights Reserved.

Hotline Hotline



UM | About This Site | Site Map | Contact Us


500 W. Baltimore Street, Baltimore, MD 21201-1786 PHONE: (410) 706-7214 FAX: (410) 706-4045 / TDD: (410) 706-7714

Admissions: PHONE: (410) 706-3492 FAX: (410) 706-1793

Copyright © 2016, University of Maryland Francis King Carey School of Law. All Rights Reserved