University of Maryland Francis King Carey School of Law

JD/LLM Academic Calendar

See also:
MSL in College Park Academic Calendar »
MSL Online Academic Calendar »

Spring 2018 | Summer 2018 | Fall 2018


SPRING SEMESTER 2018
Thur., Nov. 30 – Sat., Jan. 20 Online Add/Drop for Spring Semester (except Clinic)
Friday, December 8 Clinic/LTP Online Add/Drop deadline for Spring Semester
Thu., Jan. 4 and Fri., Jan. 5 Orientation for Clinic and LTP Courses- Mandatory
Monday, January 8 JD and LLM Classes Begin
Monday, January 15 Martin Luther King, Jr. Holiday (no classes)  Make up class on Mon., Apr. 16
Saturday, January 20 Add/Drop Deadline for Spring Semester (excluding Clinics and LTP courses)
Sunday, February 4 Application for Diploma Deadline for May 2018 Graduates
Saturday, March 17 Spring Recess Begins After Last Class
Monday, March 26 JD and LLM Instruction Resumes
Monday, April 16 Last Day of JD and LLM Classes
Monday, April 16 Deadline to Elect Credit/No Credit Option
Tue., Apr. 17 to Fri., Apr. 20 Available for make-up classes due to weather-related or other closings
Monday, April 23 JD and LLM Examinations Begin
Wednesday, May 2 JD and LLM Examinations End
Friday, May 18, 2018 Law School Hooding Ceremony
Friday, May 18, 2018 University Commencement
Friday, May 18, 2018 Spring 2018 Diploma Date


SUMMER SEMESTER 2018
Mon., April 23 – Mon., May 28 Online Add/Drop for Summer (excludes week long courses starting 5/14 or 5/21)
Monday, May 14 Online Add/Drop deadline for Summer week long courses starting May 14th
Mon., May 14 – Fri., May 18 Session 1 for accelerated summer courses (note that online add/drop ends Mon., May 14)
Monday, May 21 Online Add/Drop deadline for Summer week long courses starting May 21st
Mon., May 21 – Fri., May 25 Session 2 for accelerated summer courses (note that online add/drop ends Mon., May 21)
Tuesday, May 29 Regular Summer Semester classes begin (Constructive Monday) – note that online add/drop ends Mon., May 28
Monday, June 4 Add/Drop Deadline (using paper form only)
Sunday, June 10 Application for Diploma Deadline For July 2018 Graduates
Wednesday, July 4 Independence Day Holiday
Friday, July 13 Last Day of Classes
Friday, July 13 Deadline to Elect Credit/No Credit Option
Monday, July 16 Examinations Begin
Wednesday, July 18 Examinations End
Friday, July 27 Summer 2018 Diploma Date
Thursday, August 9 Application Deadline for Fall 2018 Externships


FALL SEMESTER 2018
Wed., May 2 – Sat., Sept. 8 Online Add/Drop for Fall Semester (except Clinic)
Friday, July 27 Clinic/LTP online Add/Drop deadline for Fall Semester
Monday, July 30 Start of Office of Career Development Recruitment Program
Mon., Aug. 20 and Tue., Aug. 21 Orientation for First Year, Transfer and Visiting Students
Wed., Aug. 22 – Fri., Aug. 24 Classes Begin for First Year Day and First Year Evening Students
Thu., Aug. 23 and Fri., Aug. 24 Orientation for Clinic and LTP Courses- Mandatory
Monday, August 27 All Classes Begin
Monday, September 3 Labor Day Holiday (no classes) Classes will be made up on Mon., Nov. 26
Saturday, September 8 Add/Drop Deadline for Fall Semester (excluding Clinic and LTP courses)
Sunday, September 9 Application for Diploma Deadline for December 2018 Graduates
Friday, November 9 Application Deadline for Spring 2019 Externships
Thu., Nov. 22 – Fri., Nov. 23 Thanksgiving Recess
Monday, November 26 Make up Monday (make up for Monday, September 3rd Labor Day)
Tuesday, November 27 Constructive Thursday (make up for Thursday, November 22)
Wednesday, November 28 Constructive Friday (make up for Friday, November 23)
Wednesday, November 28 Deadline to Elect Credit/No Credit Option
Thu., Nov. 29 – Tue., Dec. 4 Exam Study/Course Review/Make-up Classes (weather-related or other closings)
Wednesday, December 5 Examinations Begin
Friday, December 14 Examinations End
Friday, December 21, 2018 Fall 2018 Diploma Date


University of Maryland Baltimore Refund Policies »
University of Maryland Baltimore Refund Schedule »


Back To Top

500 W. Baltimore Street, Baltimore, MD 21201-1786 PHONE: (410) 706-7214 FAX: (410) 706-4045 / TDD: (410) 706-7714
Admissions: PHONE: (410) 706-3492 FAX: (410) 706-1793
Copyright © 2018, University of Maryland Francis King Carey School of Law. All Rights Reserved.

Hotline Hotline



UM | About This Site | Site Map | Contact Us


500 W. Baltimore Street, Baltimore, MD 21201-1786 PHONE: (410) 706-7214 FAX: (410) 706-4045 / TDD: (410) 706-7714

Admissions: PHONE: (410) 706-3492 FAX: (410) 706-1793

Copyright © 2018, University of Maryland Francis King Carey School of Law. All Rights Reserved