Academic Advising

Students are encouraged to speak with faculty members about programs with which they are associated, subject areas of their expertise, and courses they will be teaching. In addition, members of the staff in the Office of Student Affairs (osa@law.umaryland.edu), specifically the Director of Student Affairs (mhayes@law.umaryland.edu) and the Associate Dean for Students & Student Services (skrinsky@law.umaryland.edu), are available to advise students on academic matters. For questions about the curriculum and course offerings, members of the Academic Affairs staff (LAW-AcademicAffairs@law.umaryland.edu), specifically the Assistant Dean for Academic Administration (cedwards@law.umaryland.edu) and the Associate Dean for Academic Affairs (bgontrum@law.umaryland.edu), can be very helpful. The Director of Law Registration and staff in the Office of Registration and Enrollment (OR&E) (registration@law.umaryland.edu) are valuable sources of information about academic rules and degree requirements. 

As Director of the Academic Achievement Program, Professor Russell McClain rmcclain@law.umaryland.edu adds another perspective about course selection and academic and career goals. Assistant Dean Dana Morris dmorris@law.umaryland.edu and the professional staff of the Career Development Office (CDO) provide academic guidance as it relates to achieving career goals.

Students may also wish to consult Professor Emeritus Alan Hornstein's Course Selection Advice. The required courses will prepare you for many subject areas that will be covered on the bar exam, but not all of them. You might consider a bar exam subject course to supplement your education in preparation for the bar exam and your future legal practice.

Finally, the faculty members and others listed below serve as informal advisors for students seeking guidance in these subject areas.

Business Law

Hilary Hansen
HHansen@law.umaryland.edu
410-706-3146, Room 409 D

Center for Health and Homeland Security

Professor Michael Greenberger
mgreenberger@law.umaryland.edu         
410-706-3846, Room 467

Clinical Law

Professor Renée Hutchins
rhutchins@law.umaryland.edu
410-706-1087, Room 330

Professor Michael Pinard
mpinard@law.umaryland.edu
410-706-4121, Room 331

Conflict Resolution/Alternative Dispute Resolution

Professor Deb Eisenberg
Deisenberg@law.umaryland.edu
410-706-5995

Toby Guerin, Managing Director, CDRUM
tguerin@law.umaryland.edu
410-706-6228 

Dual Degrees   

Associate Dean Susan Krinsky
skrinsky@law.umaryland.edu
410-706-5235, Room 280 A

Environmental Law

Professor Robert Percival
rpercival@law.umaryland.edu
410-706-8030, Room 481

Bill Piermattei, Managing Director, Environmental Law Program
wpiermattei@law.umaryland.edu
410-706-8157, Room 488

Health Law

Professor Diane Hoffmann
dhoffmann@law.umaryland.edu
410-706-7191, Room 246

Virginia Rowthorn, Managing Director, Law & Health Care Program
vrowthorn@law.umaryland.edu
410-706-5369, Room 249

Intellectual Property

Professor James Grimmelmann
jgrimmelmann@law.umaryland.edu
410-706-7260, Room 231

International/Comparative Law/Commercial Law

Professor Michael Van Alstine
mvanalstine@law.umaryland.edu
410-706-1055, Room 236

Legislation

Professor Susan Leviton
sleviton@law.umaryland.edu  
410-706-3840, Room 339

Study Abroad

Assistant Dean Crystal Edwards
cedwards@law.umaryland.edu
410-706-2091, Room 260G


Externships

Assistant Dean Crystal Edwards
cedwards@law.umaryland.edu
410-706-2091, Room 260G


Back To Top

500 W. Baltimore Street, Baltimore, MD 21201-1786 PHONE: (410) 706-7214 FAX: (410) 706-4045 / TDD: (410) 706-7714
Copyright © 2014, University of Maryland Francis King Carey School of Law. All Rights Reserved.

Hotline Hotline



UM | About This Site | Site Map | Contact Us


500 W. Baltimore Street, Baltimore, MD 21201-1786 PHONE: (410) 706-7214 FAX: (410) 706-4045 / TDD: (410) 706-7714

Copyright © 2014, University of Maryland Francis King Carey School of Law. All Rights Reserved