Directions and Building Hours


Directions

From Route I-95 (North or South): Take Route. 395 (downtown Baltimore) and exit onto Martin Luther King, Jr., Blvd., staying in the right lane. At the fourth traffic light, turn right onto Baltimore St.; turn left at second traffic light onto Paca St.; turn right into the entrance for the Baltimore Grand Garage (visitor parking).

There is also metered parking available from 9am to 3pm on Baltimore, Paca, Fayette and Greene Streets surrounding the law school.



Access to the Law School Building

The School of Law building, including the Law Library, is closed to the general public after 8:00 pm on weekdays and all day on Saturdays, Sundays, and holidays.  Members of the general public will not be granted access to the building during the periods described in the preceding sentence.

Authorized law library users include students, faculty and staff of University System of Maryland campuses; attorneys; School of Law alumni; and UMMC and VA staff. These individuals will be granted access to the building and the library according to the Building Hours chart shown below.

Students with valid University of Maryland IDs may bring guests into the School of Law building and library only if those guests provide valid identification and only after signing those guests into the building at the 1st floor security desk.  Additionally, those guests must be accompanied by the student at all times.

Visitors are welcome to use the resources of the Law Library only for the purpose of conducting legal research or using government databases or print materials.

Affiliated users must present current photo identification associated with the campus or organization listed above. Attorneys should present a current bar association card along with a government-issued photo identification. Alumni will be asked to show a valid driver's license or other government-issued photo identification to the security officer at the main entrance. The officer will check the name against a list of alumni.

Visitors must present a government-issued photo identification. If the request for entrance is granted, the security officer will scan the photo identification, take a photograph of the visitor, and issue a visitor's badge which must be worn and visible at all times.

Weekdays after 8:00 pm and all day on weekends the law library will be closed to the general public.  Authorized law library users include students, faculty and staff of University System of Maryland campuses; attorneys; School of Law alumni; and UMMC and VA staff. Students with valid ids may bring guests into the library. Members of the general public should not be granted access to the library during these hours.

Building Hours for Fall 2016


MAIN ENTRANCE LIBRARY
REGULAR HOURS
Monday, August 15 through Sunday, November 13, 2016
Monday – Thursday 7:30 a.m. – Midnight 7:30 a.m. – 11:00 p.m.
Friday 7:30 a.m. – 8:00 p.m. 7:30 a.m. – 8:00 p.m.
Saturday 9:00 a.m. – 8:00 p.m. 10:00 a.m. – 8:00 p.m.
Sunday 10:00 a.m. – 8:00 p.m. 10:00 a.m. – 8:00 p.m.
Monday, Sept. 5
Labor Day
CLOSED CLOSED
FALL EXAM PERIOD HOURS
Monday, November 14 through Thursday, December 8, 2016
Monday–Friday 7:30 a.m. – 12 Midnight 7:30 a.m. – 12 Midnight
Saturday 9:00 a.m. – 12 Midnight 10:00 a.m. – 12 Midnight
Sunday 10:00 a.m. – 12 Midnight 10:00 a.m. – 12 Midnight
Wednesday November 23, 2016 7:30 a.m. – 10:00 p.m. 7:30 a.m. – 10:00 p.m.
Thursday November 24, 2016 CLOSED CLOSED
Friday November 25, 2016 9:00 a.m. – 6:00 p.m. 9:00 a.m. – 6:00 p.m.
WINTER INTERCESSION HOURS
Friday, December 9 through Sunday January 8, 2016
Friday December 9, 2016 7:30 a.m. – 11:00 p.m. 7:30 a.m. – 8:00 p.m.
Saturday December 10, 2016 10:00 a.m. – 6:00 p.m. 10:00 a.m. – 6:00 p.m.
Sunday December 11, 2016 10:00 a.m. – 6:00 p.m. 10:00 a.m. – 6:00 p.m.
Monday December 12, 2016 8:00 a.m. – 11:00 p.m. 8:00 a.m. – 8:00 p.m.
Tuesday December 13, 2016 8:00 a.m. – 6:00 p.m. 8:00 a.m. – 6:00 p.m.
Wednesday December 14, 2016 8:00 a.m. – 6:00 p.m. 8:00 a.m. – 6:00 p.m.
Thursday December 15, 2016 8:00 a.m. – 6:00 p.m. 8:00 a.m. – 6:00 p.m.
Friday December 16, 2016 8:00 a.m. – 6:00 p.m. 8:00 a.m. – 6:00 p.m.
Saturday December 17, 2016 CLOSED CLOSED
Sunday December 18, 2016 CLOSED CLOSED
Monday December 19, 2016 8:00 a.m. – 6:00 p.m. 8:00 a.m. – 6:00 p.m.
Tuesday December 20, 2016 8:00 a.m. – 6:00 p.m. 8:00 a.m. – 6:00 p.m.
Wednesday December 21, 2016 8:00 a.m. – 6:00 p.m. 8:00 a.m. – 6:00 p.m.
Thursday December 22, 2016 8:00 a.m. – 6:00 p.m. open to library staff only
Friday December 23, 2016
through
Monday January 2, 2017
CLOSED CLOSED
Tuesday January 3, 2017 8:00 a.m. – 8:00 p.m. 8:00 a.m. – 8:00 p.m.
Wednesday January 4, 2017 8:00 a.m. – 8:00 p.m. 8:00 a.m. – 8:00 p.m.
Thursday January 5, 2017 8:00 a.m. – 8:00 p.m. 8:00 a.m. – 8:00 p.m.
Friday January 6, 2017 8:00 a.m. – 6:00 p.m. 8:00 a.m. – 6:00 p.m.
Saturday January 7, 2017 9:00 a.m. – 6:00 p.m. 10:00 a.m. – 6:00 p.m.
Sunday January 8, 2017 10:00 a.m. – 8:00 p.m. 10:00 a.m. – 8:00 p.m.
RESUME REGULAR HOURS
Monday, January 9, 2017
Monday – Thursday 7:30 a.m. – Midnight 7:30 a.m. – 11:00 p.m.
Friday 7:30 a.m. – 8:00 p.m. 7:30 a.m. – 8:00 p.m.
Saturday 9:00 a.m. – 8:00 p.m. 10:00 a.m. – 8:00 p.m.
Sunday 10:00 a.m. – 8:00 p.m. 10:00 a.m. – 8:00 p.m.
Monday, Jan. 16th
Martin Luther King, Jr. Holiday
CLOSED CLOSED

Back To Top

500 W. Baltimore Street, Baltimore, MD 21201-1786 PHONE: (410) 706-7214 FAX: (410) 706-4045 / TDD: (410) 706-7714
Admissions: PHONE: (410) 706-3492 FAX: (410) 706-1793
Copyright © 2016, University of Maryland Francis King Carey School of Law. All Rights Reserved.

Hotline Hotline



UM | About This Site | Site Map | Contact Us


500 W. Baltimore Street, Baltimore, MD 21201-1786 PHONE: (410) 706-7214 FAX: (410) 706-4045 / TDD: (410) 706-7714

Admissions: PHONE: (410) 706-3492 FAX: (410) 706-1793

Copyright © 2016, University of Maryland Francis King Carey School of Law. All Rights Reserved