Directions and Building Hours


Directions

From Route I-95 (North or South): Take Route. 395 (downtown Baltimore) and exit onto Martin Luther King, Jr., Blvd., staying in the right lane. At the fourth traffic light, turn right onto Baltimore St.; turn left at second traffic light onto Paca St.; turn right into the entrance for the Baltimore Grand Garage (visitor parking).

There is also metered parking available from 9am to 3pm on Baltimore, Paca, Fayette and Greene Streets surrounding the law school.



Access to the Law School Building

The School of Law building, including the Law Library, is closed to the general public after 8:00 pm on weekdays and all day on Saturdays, Sundays, and holidays.  Members of the general public will not be granted access to the building during the periods described in the preceding sentence.

Authorized law library users include students, faculty and staff of University System of Maryland campuses; attorneys; School of Law alumni; and UMMC and VA staff. These individuals will be granted access to the building and the library according to the Building Hours chart shown below.

Students with valid University of Maryland IDs may bring guests into the School of Law building and library only if those guests provide valid identification and only after signing those guests into the building at the 1st floor security desk.  Additionally, those guests must be accompanied by the student at all times.

Visitors are welcome to use the resources of the Law Library only for the purpose of conducting legal research or using government databases or print materials.

Affiliated users must present current photo identification associated with the campus or organization listed above. Attorneys should present a current bar association card along with a government-issued photo identification. Alumni will be asked to show a valid driver's license or other government-issued photo identification to the security officer at the main entrance. The officer will check the name against a list of alumni.

Visitors must present a government-issued photo identification. If the request for entrance is granted, the security officer will scan the photo identification, take a photograph of the visitor, and issue a visitor's badge which must be worn and visible at all times.

Building Hours


MAIN ENTRANCE LIBRARY
 
LATE SUMMER HOURS
Thursday, July 31 through Saturday, August 16
Monday- Thursday 8:00am - 9:00pm 8:00am - 9:00pm
Friday 8:00am - 6:00pm 8:00am - 6:00pm
Saturday 9:00am – 6:00pm 10:00am – 6:00pm
Sunday CLOSED CLOSED
Sunday, August 17, 2014 10am – 9:00pm 10am – 9:00pm
 
REGULAR HOURS
Monday, August 18 through Tuesday, November 25, 2014
Monday – Thursday 7:30am–12 Midnight 7:30am–12 Midnight
Friday 7:30am – 8:00pm 7:30am – 8:00pm
Saturdays 9:00am – 8:00pm 10:00am – 8:00pm
Sundays 10:00am – 10:00pm 10:00am – 10:00pm
 
Monday, Sept. 1, Labor Day CLOSED CLOSED
 
Wednesday, November 26, 2014 7:30am – 10:00pm 7:30am – 10:00pm
Thursday, November 27, 2014 CLOSED CLOSED
Friday, November 27, 2014 9:00am – 6:00pm 9:00am – 6:00pm
Saturday, November 29, 2014 9:00am–12 Midnight 10:00am–12 Midnight
Sunday, November 30, 2014 10:00am–12 Midnight 10:00am–12 Midnight
 
FALL EXAM PERIOD HOURS
Monday, December 1 through Thursday, December 11, 2014
Monday–Friday 7:30am–12 Midnight 7:30am–12 Midnight
Saturday 9:00am–12 Midnight 10:00am–12 Midnight
Sunday 10:00am–12 Midnight 10:00am–12 Midnight
 
Friday, December 12, 2014 7:30am – 11:00pm 7:30am – 8:00pm
Saturday, December 13, 2014 10:00am – 6:00pm 10:00am – 6:00pm
Sunday, December 14, 2014 10:00am – 6:00pm 10:00am – 6:00pm
 
Monday, December 15, 2014 8:00am – 11:00pm 8:00am – 7:00pm
Tuesday, December 16, 2014 8:00am – 6:00pm 8:00am – 6:00pm
Wednesday, December 17, 2014 8:00am – 6:00pm 8:00am – 6:00pm
Thursday, December 18, 2014 8:00am – 6:00pm 8:00am – 6:00pm
Friday, December 19, 2014 8:00am – 6:00pm 8:00am – 6:00pm
 
Saturday, December 20, 2014 CLOSED CLOSED
Sunday, December 21, 2014 CLOSED CLOSED
 
Monday, December 22, 2014 8:00am – 6:00pm 8:00am – 6:00pm
Tuesday, December 23, 2014 8:00am –   6:00pm 8:00am – 6:00pm
Wednesday, December 24, 2014 8:00am – 6:00pm open to library staff only  
Thursday, December 25, 2014 CLOSED CLOSED
Friday, December 26, 2014 CLOSED CLOSED
 
Saturday, December 27, 2014 CLOSED CLOSED
Sunday, December 28, 2014 CLOSED CLOSED
 
Monday, December 29, 2014 CLOSED CLOSED
Tuesday, December 30, 2014 CLOSED CLOSED
Wednesday, December 31, 2014 CLOSED CLOSED
Thursday, January 1, 2015 CLOSED CLOSED
Friday, January 2, 2015 CLOSED CLOSED
 
Saturday, January 3, 2015 9:00am –   6:00pm CLOSED
Sunday, January 4, 2015 10:00am    6:00pm CLOSED
 
Monday, January 5, 2015 8:00am – 9:00pm 8:00am – 9:00pm
Tuesday, January 6, 2015 8:00am – 9:00pm 8:00am – 9:00pm
Wednesday, January 7, 2015 8:00am – 9:00pm 8:00am – 9:00pm
Thursday, January 8, 2015 8:00am – 9:00pm 8:00am – 9:00pm
Friday, January 9, 2015 8:00am –  6:00pm 8:00am –  6:00pm
 
Saturday, January 10, 2015 9:00am –6:00pm 10:00am – 6:00pm
Sunday, January 11, 2015 10:00am – 10:00pm 10:00am – 10:00pm 
 
RESUME REGULAR HOURS
Monday, January 12, 2015
Monday Thursday 7:30am – Midnight 7:30am – Midnight
Friday 7:30am – 8:00pm 7:30am – 8:00pm
Saturdays 9:00am – 10:00pm 10:00am – 8:00pm
Sundays 10:00am – 11:00pm 10:00am – 10:00pm
Monday, Jan. 19th,
Martin Luther King, Jr. Holiday
CLOSED CLOSED

Back To Top

500 W. Baltimore Street, Baltimore, MD 21201-1786 PHONE: (410) 706-7214 FAX: (410) 706-4045 / TDD: (410) 706-7714
Copyright © 2014, University of Maryland Francis King Carey School of Law. All Rights Reserved.

Hotline Hotline



UM | About This Site | Site Map | Contact Us


500 W. Baltimore Street, Baltimore, MD 21201-1786 PHONE: (410) 706-7214 FAX: (410) 706-4045 / TDD: (410) 706-7714

Copyright © 2014, University of Maryland Francis King Carey School of Law. All Rights Reserved