Directions and Building Hours


Directions

From Route I-95 (North or South): Take Route. 395 (downtown Baltimore) and exit onto Martin Luther King, Jr., Blvd., staying in the right lane. At the fourth traffic light, turn right onto Baltimore St.; turn left at second traffic light onto Paca St.; turn right into the entrance for the Baltimore Grand Garage (visitor parking).

There is also metered parking available from 9am to 3pm on Baltimore, Paca, Fayette and Greene Streets surrounding the law school.



Access to the Law School Building

The School of Law building, including the Law Library, is closed to the general public after 8:00 pm on weekdays and all day on Saturdays, Sundays, and holidays.  Members of the general public will not be granted access to the building during the periods described in the preceding sentence.

Authorized law library users include students, faculty and staff of University System of Maryland campuses; attorneys; School of Law alumni; and UMMC and VA staff. These individuals will be granted access to the building and the library according to the Building Hours chart shown below.

Students with valid University of Maryland IDs may bring guests into the School of Law building and library only if those guests provide valid identification and only after signing those guests into the building at the 1st floor security desk.  Additionally, those guests must be accompanied by the student at all times.

Visitors are welcome to use the resources of the Law Library only for the purpose of conducting legal research or using government databases or print materials.

Affiliated users must present current photo identification associated with the campus or organization listed above. Attorneys should present a current bar association card along with a government-issued photo identification. Alumni will be asked to show a valid driver's license or other government-issued photo identification to the security officer at the main entrance. The officer will check the name against a list of alumni.

Visitors must present a government-issued photo identification. If the request for entrance is granted, the security officer will scan the photo identification, take a photograph of the visitor, and issue a visitor's badge which must be worn and visible at all times.

Weekdays after 8:00 pm and all day on weekends the law library will be closed to the general public.  Authorized law library users include students, faculty and staff of University System of Maryland campuses; attorneys; School of Law alumni; and UMMC and VA staff. Students with valid ids may bring guests into the library. Members of the general public should not be granted access to the library during these hours.

Building Hours for Fall 2017


REGULAR HOURS
Monday, August 21 through Sunday, November 19, 2017
MAIN ENTRANCE LIBRARY
Monday – Thursday 7:30 a.m. – Midnight 7:30 a.m. – 11:00pm
Friday 7:30 a.m. – 8:00 p.m. 7:30 a.m. – 8:00 p.m.
Saturdays 9:00 a.m. – 8:00 p.m. 10:00 a.m. – 8:00 p.m.
Sundays 10:00 a.m. – 8:00 p.m. 10:00 a.m. – 8:00 p.m.
Monday, Sept. 4, Labor Day CLOSED CLOSED
FALL EXAM PERIOD HOURS
Monday, November 20 through Tuesday, December 12, 2017
MAIN ENTRANCE LIBRARY
Monday–Friday 7:30 a.m. – 12 Midnight 7:30 a.m. – 12 Midnight
Saturday 9:00 a.m. – 12 Midnight 10:00 a.m. – 12 Midnight
Sunday 10:00 a.m. – 12 Midnight 10:00 a.m. – 12 Midnight
Wednesday, November 22, 2017 7:30 a.m. – 6:00 p.m. 7:30 a.m. – 6:00 p.m.
Thursday ,November 23, 2017 CLOSED CLOSED
Friday, November 24, 2017 9:00 a.m. – 6:00 p.m. 9:00 a.m. – 6:00 p.m.
WINTER BREAK HOURS
MAIN ENTRANCE LIBRARY
Wednesday, December 13, 2017 8:00 a.m. – 11:00 p.m. 8:00 a.m. – 8:00 p.m.
Thursday, December 14, 2017 8:00 a.m. – 6:00 p.m. 8:00 a.m. – 6:00 p.m.
Friday, December 15, 2017 8:00 a.m. – 6:00 p.m. 8:00 a.m. – 6:00 p.m.
Saturday, December 16, 2017 CLOSED CLOSED
Sunday, December 17, 2017 CLOSED CLOSED
Monday, December 18, 2017 8:00 a.m. – 6:00 p.m. 8:00 a.m. – 6:00 p.m.
Tuesday, December 19, 2017 8:00 a.m. – 6:00 p.m. 8:00 a.m. – 6:00 p.m.
Wednesday, December 20, 2017 8:00 a.m. – 6:00 p.m. 8:00 a.m. – 6:00 p.m.
Thursday, December 21, 2017 8:00 a.m. – 6:00 p.m. 8:00 a.m. – 6:00 p.m.
Friday, December 22, 2017 8:00 a.m. – 6:00 p.m. open to library staff only
Saturday, December 23, 2017 CLOSED CLOSED
Sunday, December 24, 2017 CLOSED CLOSED
Monday, December 25, 2017 CLOSED CLOSED
Tuesday, December 26, 2017 CLOSED CLOSED
Wednesday, December 27, 2017 CLOSED CLOSED
Thursday, December 28, 2017 CLOSED CLOSED
Friday, December 29, 2017 CLOSED CLOSED
Saturday, December 30, 2017 CLOSED CLOSED
Sunday, December 31, 2017 CLOSED CLOSED
Monday, January 1, 2018 CLOSED CLOSED
Tuesday, January 2, 2018 8:00 a.m. – 8:00 p.m. 8:00 a.m. – 8:00 p.m.
Wednesday, January 3, 2018 8:00 a.m. – 8:00 p.m. 8:00 a.m. – 8:00 p.m.
Thursday, January 4, 2018 8:00 a.m. – 8:00 p.m. 8:00 a.m. – 8:00 p.m.
Friday, January 5, 2018 8:00 a.m. – 6:00 p.m. 8:00 a.m. – 6:00 p.m.
Saturday, January 6, 2018 9:00 a.m. – 6:00 p.m. 10:00 a.m. – 6:00 p.m.
Sunday, January 7, 2018 10:00 a.m. – 8:00 p.m. 10:00 a.m. – 8:00 p.m.
RESUME REGULAR HOURS
Monday, January 8, 2018
MAIN ENTRANCE LIBRARY
Monday – Thursday 7:30 a.m. – Midnight 7:30 a.m. – 11:00pm
Friday 7:30 a.m. – 8:00 p.m. 7:30 a.m. – 8:00 p.m.
Saturdays 9:00 a.m. – 8:00 p.m. 10:00 a.m. – 8:00 p.m.
Sundays 10:00 a.m. – 8:00 p.m. 10:00 a.m. – 8:00 p.m.
Monday, Jan. 15th, Martin Luther King, Jr. Holiday CLOSED CLOSED

Back To Top

500 W. Baltimore Street, Baltimore, MD 21201-1786 PHONE: (410) 706-7214 FAX: (410) 706-4045 / TDD: (410) 706-7714
Admissions: PHONE: (410) 706-3492 FAX: (410) 706-1793
Copyright © 2017, University of Maryland Francis King Carey School of Law. All Rights Reserved.

Hotline Hotline



UM | About This Site | Site Map | Contact Us


500 W. Baltimore Street, Baltimore, MD 21201-1786 PHONE: (410) 706-7214 FAX: (410) 706-4045 / TDD: (410) 706-7714

Admissions: PHONE: (410) 706-3492 FAX: (410) 706-1793

Copyright © 2017, University of Maryland Francis King Carey School of Law. All Rights Reserved